Disappearing Comments Sections

Good morning,

I received feedback last night that folks are unable to comment on my post from last night.  I have combed through the settings I know of, and looked for the postings you guys sent out on this earlier this year.  I got nothing.  Can someone throw me a life line and repost the instructions on how to fix this? Or you can email me at idream3223@gmail.com.

Thanks in advance for saving me from myself :)–

***UPDATE:  Problem solved, sort of.  In a nutshell this setting can only be managed from the new and “improved” edit page.  So, yay for the solution and BOO for it being delivered in such an oppressive way.  I was not a fan of the new editing beeping and booping.  Now that it has been rammed sideways down my throat I am even less so.

Thanks, for the help, ya’ll.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Disappearing Comments Sections

  1. tj6james6 says:

    This has been an ongoing issue for a couple of months. I’m mobile or I would send the link to 3 or 4 posts ago on FanfictionMinions where the fix was posted.
    Quick fix…scroll to the bottom of the post in edit mode. There should be two tick boxes, one which says allow comments and I think the other is allow pingbacks. I tick both but you only need to do the one for comments in order for them to work.
    You will have to do this for each post or page you want to allow comments on.
    Hope this helps.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. tj6james6 says:

    Oh, and check your Spam filter, some of them may have ended up there.

    Liked by 2 people

    • idream3223 says:

      Thank you so much! That did help! The issue for me was centered in the fact that I was using the old edit page, and not the new and unimproved BEEP-BEEP-BOOP version (really? I mean REALLY?). I post old school but they are trying to FORCE us to use their new graphics user interface by herding us into it one setting that you can only manage from that location at a time.
      It’s insidious, and kind of genius.
      It is a serious source of irritation that first you treat me like a child with the voices and special sound effects in my blogging, but to oppress me by usurping my freedom of choice one command at a time is unacceptable.
      With all the things that are actually broken with WP, couldn’t we spend some energy on those and stop “improving” things that are fine the way they are?

      Thanks again for the hand in getting this figured out! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • tj6james6 says:

        Quite welcome :). When you are creating the post if you scroll to the bottom you can click the allow comments box so you don’t have to go through edit.
        I don’t like Beep Beep Boop either. I actually haven’t spoken to anybody who does so why are they keeping it if nobody likes it?
        My mom used to say, and I’ve continued, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.” I don’t think WP and some of the others have learned that little lesson yet *sigh*.
        If you want to complain and have twitter you can message them @wordpressdotcom, or even have a question or whatever. They generally get back to you within 24 hours at that one.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

